Notice is hereby given that Nomination Day is Monday, September 20, 2021 and that nominations for the election of candidates for the following offices will be received at the Municipal District of Smoky River Administration Office from January 1, 2021 between the hours of 8:30 a.m. – 4:30 p.m. up to September 20, 2021 between the hours of 8:30 a.m. and 12:00 noon.

Office                         Vacancies                Division Number

Councillor                           1                                  Division  1 (Guy)
CANDIDATES:                                                        GUINDON, Paula
                                                                                 GOSSELIN, Donald   

Councillor                           1                                  Division  2 (Whitemud)
CANDIDATES:                                                        DESAULNIERS, Raymond
                                                                                 JOHNSON, Raoul   

Councillor                           1                                  Division  3 (Girouxville)
CANDIDATES:                                                        DOLHAN, Jason
                                                                                 SYLVAIN, Gilles
                                                                                 BLANCHETTE, Alain

Councillor                           1                                  Division  4 (Falher)
CANDIDATES:                                                        DESAULNIERS, Ron
                                                                                 SCHOLL, Karin
                                                                                 ROY, Gilles

Councillor                           1                                  Division  5 (McLennan)
CANDIDATES:                                                        BROCHU, Robert   (incumbent)
                                                                                 MICHAUD, Marc

Councillor                           1                                  Division  6 (Jean Cote)
CANDIDATES:                                                        TRUDEAU, Andre    (incumbent)
                                                                                 TURCOTTE, Jeremie
                                                                                 SIMARD, Leo

Location of Local Jurisdiction Office:

Municipal District of Smoky River No.130
701 Mainstreet
Box 210
Falher, Alberta T0H 1M0

Election Personnel Required

On Monday, October 18, 2021 the Municipal District of Smoky River will be conducting a Municipal Election.  The voting stations and number of personnel required will be determined after Nomination Day on September 20, 2021.  Please submit your Expression of Interest to:

Kelsie Fournier, Returning Officer


October 14th, 2021 from 10:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m. at the Municipal District of Smoky River No. 130 Administration building located at 701 Main Street Falher, Alberta.


Polling stations will be open from 10:00 a.m. to 8:00 p.m. on October 18th, 2021.


Division 1 – Guy Community Hall, 52st Guy, AB

Division 2 – Little Smoky Ski Area Chalet, 74518A, RR214, SE 4-74-21-W5

Division 3 – Girouxville Community Hall, 5012 48 ave, Girouxville, AB

Division 4 – MD of Smoky River No. 130 Administration Office, 701 Main Street, Falher, AB

Division 5 – McLennan Golden Age Club, 10 – 3rd ave NE, McLennan, AB

Division 6 – Jean Cote Community Hall, 4902 50 ave, Jean Cote, AB


Proof of identity and current residence is required to be able to vote.  Any of the following documents that has your name and address on it will be accepted as valid proof:

  • Operator/Driver’s License
  • Government photo identification card (for non-drivers)
  • Proof of Identity and Ordinary Residence issued by the authorized representative of a First Nations band or reserve
  • Bank/Credit card statement or personal cheque
  • Correspondence issued by a school, college or university
  • Government cheque or cheque stub
  • Income/Property tax assessment notice
  • Insurance policy or coverage card
  • Letter from a public curator, public guardian or public trustee
  • One of the following, issued by the responsible authority of a shelter or soup kitchen: Attestation of residence, letter of stay, admission form or statement of benefits
  • Pension Plan statement of benefits, contributions or participation
  • Prescription bottle insert
  • Residential lease or mortgage statement
  • Statement of government benefits, e.g. employment insurance, old-age security, social assistance, disability support or child tax benefit
  • Utility bill, e.g. telephone, public utilities commission, television, hydro, gas or water
  • Vehicle ownership or insurance certificate as required by section 53 of the Local Authorities Election Act or local bylaw

If a voter’s identification shows a post office box number as the address instead of a residential or legal address, it can be accepted as verification of current address if it is in reasonable distance to the voting jurisdiction.

Ministerial Order No. MSD:065/21 enables the use of band and federal status cards as acceptable forms of identification for the purpose of conducting the elections pursuant to the Alberta Senate Election Act and the Referendum Act.